191st RHA Annual Exhibition, PRIZE GIVING

On Saturday 25 September, 21 artists’ prizes contributing to a prize fund of over €70,000+ were awarded at the 191st RHA Annual Exhibition. The largest artistic prize fund in Ireland includes prizes for emerging, mid-career and senior, across mediums including painting, photography, sculpture and architecture. The continued support of our sponsors is greatly appreciated by both the RHA and the recipient artists. All award winning artworks can be seen HERE.

 The Awards Were As Follows:

The Ireland – US Council and Irish Arts Review Portraiture Award

Awarded to Emma Stroude, Fifteen

The Curtin O’Donoghue Photography Award

Awarded to Dianne Whyte, Fragment Space 1, The Office

The Curtin O’Donoghue Emerging Photographic Award

Awarded to Simon Meagher, Horizons

The Morgan O’Driscoll Sculpture Award

Awarded to Rory Breslin, The October Mask, Clew Bay Series

The Adam’s Award

Awarded to Joby Hickey, San Fernando Valley

The De Veres Art Award – for a work of distinction

Awarded to Paddy Critchley, Nature Morte (After Beckett)

The Keating /  McLaughlin Award and Silver Medal for an Outstanding Art Work, Awarded by ESB

Awarded to Tom McLean, Waiting Game

The K + M Evans Painting Prize

Awarded to Fiach McGuinne, Nigh do Lamhe

The Whyte’s Award

Awarded to Caitlyn Rooke, Clouds Over Croagh Patrick

The Connor / Moran Award for Outstanding Sculpture: Awarded by the ESB

Awarded to John Rainey, New Noise/Old Noise Old Noise/New Noise

The Friends of the RHA Award for a Senior Artist

Awarded to Brett McEntagart RHA, Sunset Scotman’s Bay

 The Alex Bradley Award for a mid-career artist in any medium

Awarded to Rosie Wall, Pain Unseen

Contemporary Irish Arts Society Award for a Work of Distinction by a Emerging Artist

Awarded to Caitlyn Rooke, Clouds Over Croagh Patrick

The Graphic Studio Dublin Wilkinson Award.  Sponsored by Behaviour and Attitudes

Awarded to Niamh Flanagan, We leave tonight – the beach huts’ conspiracy

The Solomon Fine Art Award for Sculpture in any Medium

Awarded to Colin Davidson, Strainseir 4

The Don Niccolo d’Ardia Caracciolo Award and Medal

Awarded to Daniel Nelis, Untitled (November)

The Arthur Gibney Award for Architectural Content

Awarded to Cillian Briody, Acoustic Vessel

The Hanley Sustainability Energy Award for a Landscape of Distinction

Awarded to Vera Klute ARHA, Upheaval

The Anita Young Bursary

Awarded to Diarmuid Breen, The Reader

The Hennessy Craig Scholarship, SHORTLIST:

Eileen O’Sullivan, The Work is in the Underlayer

Ciara Roche, Night Service Station

Fiach McGuinne, Nigh do Lamhe

Owen de Forge, Behind the Scenes

Sarah Wren Wilson, Despite the Background, I am You and You are Me

Shortlisted artists are invited to exhibit at the RHA in February 2022. The winner of the €20,000 prize associated with this scholarship, will be announced at the opening of the shortlisted artists exhibition at the RHA,  February 2022.

RCSI Art Award in association with The Irish Times, SHORTLIST:

€15,000 (€5,000 prize & €10,000 commission) MEDICINE MAKES LIFE POSSIBLE, ART MAKES IT WORTHWHILE,

James English RHA, Weightless

Martin Gale RHA, Wish you were here

Vera Klute ARHA, Frizz

Domino Whisker, The birds and I

The 191st RHA Annual Exhibition runs until 30 October. The Gallery is open 7 days a week. Mon – Sat, 11 – 5pm and Sunday 2 – 5pm. Admission is free with a suggested donation of €5. Booking not necessary. The exhibition is supported by a full colour catalogue costing €20 available at reception.