Awards & Bursaries

The Elizabeth Fitzpatrick Travel Bursary

The Elizabeth Fitzpatrick Travel Bursary of €2,500 is awarded to enable Irish artists to further their studies abroad. This scholarship is awarded in memory of Elizabeth Fitzpatrick, a lifelong friend and supporter of the visual arts in Ireland. The Purser family, into which Elizabeth was born in 1904, was one of a Dublin circle with many artistic affiliations. Between 1930 and 1980 she moved in this circle which included Sarah Purser – her great aunt, Jack Yeats, A.E. Child, Mainie Jellett and Mary Swanzy.

Previous recipients of the Elizabeth Fitzpatrick Travel Bursary include: Leda Scully, Amy O’Riordan, Hugh McCarthy, Simon McWilliams, Tony O’Malley, Eamonn O’Kane, Catherine Harper, Sanja Todorovic, Damien Flood and Sighle Bhreathnach-Cashell.


  • „Candidates must be Irish citizens or born on the Island of Ireland.
  • „Candidates must be 35 years of age or under.
  • The winner of the bursary is entitled to exhibit one piece of work in the RHA Annual Exhibition in 2019.

How to Apply:

Artists wishing to be considered should apply by completing the application form available here by 31 August, 2018.